Living the Word of God

How To Work The Word

Many people that I’ve encountered in my walk with Jesus, I perceived, have a poverty mentality and I can’t understand why. The Bible quote that everyone uses is:

But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

What I’ve found out is that many people quote that scripture but it isn’t a reality in their lives because of the way they view money or their attitude about it.

What I mean by having a poverty mentality is hard to fully explain because I perceived it in the spirit while interacting with some. For most of what you receive in the spirit, there are no words to explain what was transferred into your knowing.

What I’ve witness is that some people actually hate the way I easily spend money to help them through their crisis. It’s more like they despise God’s ability within me to do so. . And I can actually see in the spirit, their evil plots calculating within themselves to try to get more from me than I’m allotted to give. They watch every move I make with my money almost to the point where I have to turn my back just to get money out of my pockets. Did this ever happen to you?

These same people squeeze money so tight that if I gave them a dollar and told them to give it to someone on the streets, they wouldn’t. They would make excuses not to give it just so that they can keep the money in their own pockets. . No wonder why you don’t have the money you need. You are scaring those poor dollars into hiding and stopping the blessing assigned to that act of giving.

I’m no different than anyone else but it seems that I’ve gotten it in my head that God WILL meet my needs. He always has and always will because He said so. I may give my last dollar out but I just know that I know that I know that I know that God will send someone around the corner with fifty more to give to me. God has never failed me. That is why I give. Scripture says:

Give to anyone who asks; and when things are taken away from you, don’t try to get them back. Luke 6:30 NLT Why? because God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:19). Here I hope to show you how to make a demand on God to supply your needs instead of you trying to make a demand on your circumstances to no avail.

Also what you should consider and believe is that if God will do it for me, He will do it for you too because God does not show favoritism. Then Peter began to speak: “I now realize how true it is that God does not show favoritism Acts 10:34 NLT Knowing that God will do for you what He’s done for me or for that fact, for anyone who will believe His promises contained in the Bible, why would you rather accentuate the negative over your situations when you can take that same energy and accentuate the positive and get better results?

Let’s settle this once and for all. Some call it sowing & reaping, giving & receiving or even planting & harvesting – no matter how you look at it, they all mean the same thing – getting more of what you don’t have now by giving what you do have and expecting to get more as a result of your sowing, giving or planting.

“While the earth remains,
Seedtime and harvest,
Cold and heat,
Winter and summer,
And day and night
Shall not cease.” Genesis 8:22 NKJV

The example on how to change your way of thinking will come from the Book of Mark. The entire Kingdom of God works like this:

26) Jesus also said, “The Kingdom of God is like a farmer who scatters seed on the ground. 27) Night and day, while he’s asleep or awake, the seed sprouts and grows, but he does not understand how it happens. 28) The earth produces the crops on its own. First a leaf blade pushes through, then the heads of wheat are formed, and finally the grain ripens. 29) And as soon as the grain is ready, the farmer comes and harvests it with a sickle, for the harvest time has come.” Mark 4:26-29 NLT

Did you get that? In verse 26 the man planted a seed. In verse 29 he reaped the harvest. What happens between the time the farmer sowed the seed and when he reaped the harvest? Growth! When praying for God to bless you or give you what you are asking Him for, your job is simply to plant the seed then expect it to grow. Many place their focus on how it suppose to happen according to their finite thinking therefore never getting the expected desired results. Look at verse 27 which states: “Night and day, while he’s asleep or awake, the seed sprouts and grows, but he does not understand how it happens.” From the moment you spoke your request, the entire universe is aligning itself up to grant you your request but YOU prevent your receipt of those things because of the attitude of your heart.

Earlier in this Chapter and in particular what Jesus spoke about was four different views people hold when it comes to believing the Word of God. In the first instance (vs 15), these people just don’t believe and the devil steals the word they hear before the word is given the chance to work to change their lives or their circumstances

In the second example of sowing the Word (vs 17), these people believe the Word and joyfully receive it looking forward to putting into action what they heard at the service. But as soon as they stop shouting, and got back to their own thoughts which are dominated by preconceived fears, the time of testing comes. When trouble or persecution came to try them, they failed and fell back to entertaining familiar spirits thus never receiving the promises either because they have not meditated on the Word to allow the Word to root itself into their belief system.

In the third example (vs 19), the man has no problem hearing or understanding the word. What keeps this man from receiving is that his focus is short. He believes for a short time but then diverts his attention to the worries of this life, the deceitfulness of wealth or the desire for other things. If only he would have the patience to see the Word out and watch those promises become a reality in this life he would surely be known as “blessed.”

It was in the fourth example that the farmer succeeded. Why? Because he believe, accepted the Word and the supernatural process of receiving the promises, and placed his demand upon God and not his circumstances.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

