Living the Word of God

What to do while you are waiting for God to answer your prayer?

Everything with God takes time; with faith and patience, you can receive anything that you ask of the Lord if you believe in your heart that God wants you to have it and speak it into existence. How do you know that God wants you to have it? Simply put, faith exists where the will of God is known. If you find it in the Bible of God doing something for someone, then it’s the Lord’s will to do that same very thing for you too.

In order for you to receive it, you, YOU have to believe it. Let me give you an example. First, I never had a money problem because I’m a giver. I could give you my last dollar then out of nowhere someone would bless me with help doing what that dollar would have done for me. So I don’t stress over money. You have to get to that point where you know without a shadow of doubt that the Lord will meet ALL your needs (Philippians 4:19). I never cared about material things either until recently. I’ve lost many things in life (kids, car, clothes, etc.) and decided that it was time for me to get some things for me. I know that the wealth of the Lord makes one rich and adds no sorrow to it (pro 10:22). If I was going to get anything, it would have to come from the Lord.

In the past, I have seen the Lord bless me with ten dollars here, twenty dollars there but after looking at my budget one month, I really needed someone to come through with a financial blessing for me. A few weeks before I knew I needed the money, I put it to prayer knowing that the Lord heard my prayer and that He will answer it favorably (1st John 5:14-15). Just a side note: I give you scripture references so that you too can use those scriptures to believe God for yourself. YOU have to do the work, though. I’m just saying. What’s a few minutes reading a scripture, a second to believe it, a moment to meditate on it until it becomes a solid belief in your heart that no one can take away and a shout of praise to the Lord who deserves all the glory anyway?

Not knowing how the Lord was going to help me this time, I sent out a request for love offerings a couple of times in advance but as the month of need was quickly approaching, nothing came in. As the old month ended and the next one began, I started expecting someone to send me some money. For a few days in a row I would go to the mail box looking for (expecting) an offering but after a week of anticipating help, I got none; and my daily visits to the mail box became spaced out over a day then two. It’s at this point that most people would give up on what they believed God for. Would you have given up here too?  Well, here’s where my patience kicked in. I stayed strong believing that God was going to help me by remaining faithful in praise and in my prayer time.

The days passed until they turned into the first week of the month and nothing came in. Then out of nowhere a friend called and asked me if I could give an estimate for one of his clients who wanted his building painted. In a matter of minutes, my friend showed up at my door and we were off to look at the job. I met with the business owner and gave him my best estimate – $1,200.00 – $1500.00 (which was exactly what I was short for the month) then went back home and I put this job to the Lord in prayer with thanksgiving. While I was going through this process, I really wasn’t aware that the Lord was orchestrating this but this is how the Lord works. Finally I settled it in my heart. If it’s the Lord’s will, I will beat out all the other contractors and get the job. .” It was, and I did get the contract. Praise the Lord!

What happened was that another week went by and as I was looking at the calendar mentioning to the Lord “it would be a good time to stop on by” I received another call from my friend. This time, we were going to Home Depot to buy the supplies and the job was to begin immediately. My God is AWESOME! That means now that my FAITH to believe God for money has increased from ten or twenty dollars to the new amount of TWELVE HUNDRED DOLLARS. Did you understand the process?

To believe God for anything you have to kind of build your faith up to it. Start believing for the little things, then as you build up your capacity to believe God for the little things, those little things become bigger and bigger things that you can believe God for. I don’t know why people want to try to believe God for a million dollars and they haven’t even believed Him for fifty. Then when they don’t get the million dollars, they think the Bible doesn’t work. I testify that it does, you just went about it wrong way. I know now my faith exists where I know, THAT I know, that I KNOW, THAT I KNOW that every financial problem under twelve hundred, I can easily believe God for since He already came through with the twelve hundred dollars for me during that month; nobody can take that belief away from me because I’ve already experienced it. You see how that works? Faith has to be exercised. It’s like a muscle. When you start off lifting weights, you start with a little weight and you don’t see any muscle. After weeks or even months, the weight increases and you start seeing the results of all your hard work – MUSCLES. Some people, after a few DAYS expect themselves to be buffed, toned and fit. When they look in the mirror and don’t SEE it happening right away, they give up and quit. Could that be the reason why people who make New Year’s resolutions to get in shape quit after a few weeks? Or even give up believing God for the answers to their prayers? Instant six-packs, that’s the miracle pill never invented.

With God, everything starts with the seed. You plant it, water it, give it some sun and watch it grow. The seed can be considered the Word of God (Mark 4:14-20) or the promises you find in the scriptures. When you plant it, it can be the same thing as saying when you pray to God about it (Mark 11:22-25). Watering it is done by praise and thanksgiving to God for answering your prayers in advance. I never get tired of praising God. If God never does anything else for you, He’s done enough for you to praise Him every day for the rest of your life. Just look at your own life. How do you feel when people praise you? The rest is up to God and His timing. You just have to be patient to receive it.

You might wonder how I came to this point in my faith walk. I learned how to BELIEVE. There are only two ways for anything to make an impression on your heart. When you see YOU having it either in your imagination or in your mind’s eye and when YOU hear something affirming what you believe. First let’s look at the imagination. And the Lord said, Behold, they are one people and they have all one language; and this is only the beginning of what they will do, and now NOTHING THEY HAVE IMAGINED THEY CAN DO WILL BE IMPOSSIBLE FOR THEM (Genesis 11:6 AMP). This has to do with speaking the same thing in agreement, and imagining it (whatever) to come to pass. There is power in agreement (Matthew 18:18-19). I believe that’s why God gave man a woman (Genesis 2:23-24). We are to speak the Word of God in agreement and Jesus, our High Priest will take your requests to God the Father on your behalf. Can you believe that? A threefold chord can hardly be broken.

Next we will look at hearing something. So faith comes by hearing [what is told], and what is heard comes by the preaching [of the message that comes from the lips] of Christ (the Messiah Himself) (Romans 10:17 AMP). There is nothing more powerful than hearing you speak something to yourself. This means that if you take the Word which comes out of the Bible and begin speaking that same Word to all your obstacles and believe that you are entitled to receive deliverance over them, then you will have your miracles. The power comes when you speak the word found in the scripture as previously spoken by Jesus Himself or one of followers out loud to your circumstances because the word does not return void (Isaiah 55:11).

Now here comes the catch. You have to be on guard defending these great and precious promises you’ve just spoken from any doubt and unbelief. The battlefield is the mind. The devil will put all types of negative thoughts on your mind and send doubting people to spread words of discouragement to take you off of your stand of faith. We wrestle with negative thought all the time. When you find yourself in that battle, simply speak out loud what the Bible says you can believe God for and it will shut down the negative self-chatter going on in your mind. The same thing works when negative people try to force their negative will over your prayers. Simply affirm (in love) what you believe God will do for you backed up by the scripture. Regardless of what you say, they will come back with some doubt and/or negative comments. So after you make your stance, see your way out of their presence until what you are hoping for manifests then you have a testimony to give them; eventually they may just start believing God for themselves. Just be careful when you walk away not to start believing what they said.

Finally, I want to leave you with two power tips.

And the Lord answered me and said, Write the vision and engrave it so plainly upon tablets that everyone who passes may [be able to] read [it easily and quickly] as he hastens by. For the vision is yet for an appointed time and it hastens to the end [fulfillment]. It will not deceive or disappoint. Though it tarry, wait [earnestly] for it will not be behindhand on its appointed day (Habakkuk 2:2-3 AMP). When you write something down on paper, you convince yourself that it’s doable, it keeps your mind actively pursuing it and it gives you the blueprint of things to come.

This Book of the Law shall not depart out of your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, that you may observe and do according to all that is written in it. For then YOU SHALL MAKE YOUR WAY PROSPEROUS, and then you shall deal wisely and have good success (Joshua 1:8 AMP). “Shall not depart out of your mouth” means never stop saying what scripture says. When you say what the scripture says, YOU SHALL MAKE YOUR WAY PROSPEROUS. I have an electronic Merriam-Webster School Dictionary which lists “meditate” like this: 1) a: to reflect on or muse over: CONTEMPLATE b: to engage in contemplation or reflection 2: to plan or project in the mind: INTEND, PURPOSE. Speaking into existence those things you find in the Bible over your life WILL ignite the word in your heart. Once it’s there, you can set back watch the Word of God come true for you too.  I like to personalize each scripture as if it was a promise directed personally to me. Then I find myself always muttering under my breath those same promises. I welcome your feedback on this.

Standard

One thought on “What to do while you are waiting for God to answer your prayer?

  1. Pingback: Meditating on God | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

