Living the Word of God

Step Up To The Plate

The call of God for us who have received the gift of salvation is to be sanctified or separated from the world. Not that we can take ourselves out of the world physically and still live in the world but to adapt to a new behavior which will identify us as Christians by trading in our old sinful nature and putting on the new nature of holiness.

 

As you read various posts on this page and as I believe my job as a Christian is and not as an ordained minister is, I try to share with you things that have worked for me and because God doesn’t show favoritism, it will work for you too. Delegated to me is the task to open their eyes, so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me (Jesus Christ) Acts 26:18 NLT).

 

It does require discipline to live as a Christian. I can’t even count all the times during each day that I am tempted with one thing or another. The good news is that I can refuse all of those temptations. God said I could. The story of Cain and Able is told in Genesis Chapter 4. It was time for Cain and Abel to bring an offering to the Lord. Abel’s offering was accepted by God but Cain’s wasn’t and Cain got mad. The Lord said: You will be accepted if you do what is right. But if you refuse to do what is right, then watch out! Sin is crouching at the door, eager to control you. But you must subdue it and be its master.” (Genesis 4:7 NLT). Cain ended up killing his brother Abel and being banished from the presence of the Lord. That’s where the saying “Am I my brother’s keeper” came from.

We are admonished to walk in the light, as he is in the light. When we do, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin (1st John 1:7). What that means is to allow the Holy Spirit to lead and guide you throughout your daily activities and you will not stumble into doing things that you regret.

I say these things because of what I see and read from posts on fb. I pray for my fb friends daily. Then I sometimes wonder if they really are trying to solve the problems they encounter or if they even read the posts I share as self-improvement. I have many of my own faults too. But when I speak what the Lord says, those messages can be taken face value to remedy your challenges.

I guess all I can do is to keep trying to share with you the love of God until you get it. I love you with the love of God my fb friends and family.

Standard

Leave a Reply

