Living the Word of God

The Primary Blessing Blocker – You!

When you hear of people mentioning “haters” you automatically think of the people who have talked negative about your success. This may be news to you but have you ever considered yourself as one of the biggest haters in your life? Okay, let me explain before you delete me.  The Urban dictionary describes a hater as:

“A person that simply cannot be happy for another person’s success. So rather than be happy they make a point of exposing a flaw in that person.”

I don’t know about you but I sometimes ask God for something but deep down inside I find myself bringing up my own flaws. What makes it worse is when it comes out of my mouth The principle comes from Mark Chapter 11:23-24

For verily I say unto you, That whosoever shall SAY unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; and shall not doubt in his heart, but shall believe that those things which he SAITH shall come to pass; he shall have whatsoever he SAITH.Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.

Even though you desire a thing and prayed about it, it’s what you believe about it which becomes what you will eventually get. I often have to check what I believe about something I prayed about to know whether I will get it because once what I believe about it comes out of my mouth, it is done according to what I believed. If what I believed in my heart about my flaws are greater than my hopes, then my thoughts concerning my flaws prohibits me from receiving the things I hoped for.

Follow this story found in Luke Chapter 1:

There was a Jewish priest named Zechariah who was righteous in God’s eyes. But he and his wife Elizabeth had no children because Elizabeth was unable to conceive, and they were both very old. One day Zechariah was serving God in the Temple and an angel appeared to him and told him that he and his wife would be having a baby. Here’s what happened:

While Zechariah was in the sanctuary, an angel of the Lord appeared to him, standing to the right of the incense altar. Zechariah was shaken and overwhelmed with fear when he saw him. But the angel said, “Don’t be afraid, Zechariah! God has heard your prayer. Your wife, Elizabeth, will give you a son, and you are to name him John. You will have great joy and gladness, and many will rejoice at his birth, for he will be great in the eyes of the Lord. He must never touch wine or other alcoholic drinks. He will be filled with the Holy Spirit, even before his birth And he will turn many Israelites to the Lord their God. He will be a man with the spirit and power of Elijah. He will prepare the people for the coming of the Lord. He will turn the hearts of the fathers to their children, and he will cause those who are rebellious to accept the wisdom of the godly.”(Luke 1:11-17 NLT.)

See, Zechariah and his wife prayed about something and here, then the Lord God came to inform him that his prayers were answered. Not that the Lord can’t send an angel to you to tell you the same thing, He does however, gives you an unction, a dream or a vision or even someone you know or don’t know will confirm you have the very thing that you are seeking. God will tell you before it happens so that when it comes to pass, you will know that it was the Lord God who answered your prayers. Let’s read on.

Zechariah said to the angel, “How can I be sure this will happen? I’m an old man now, and my wife is also well along in years.” Then the angel said, “I am Gabriel! I stand in the very presence of God. It was he who sent me to bring you this good news! But now, since you didn’t believe what I said, you will be silent and unable to speak until the child is born. For my words will certainly be fulfilled at the proper time.”(Luke 1:18-20 NLT)

As you can see, when you bring up your flaws it’s a form of unbelief. I believe if the angel of the Lord didn’t shut the mouth of Zechariah, he would have came out of the temple testifying that he saw an angel and the angel said they would have a baby. Then he would start talking about his flaws: “But we are too old and Elizabeth was never able to conceive…” A lot of your blessings or prayers aren’t answered because of what you say and what you believe about it.

You brood of snakes! How could evil men like you speak what is good and right? For whatever is in your heart determines what you say (Matthew 12:34 NLT).

We having the same spirit of faith, according as it is written, I believed, and therefore have I spoken; we also believe, and therefore speak (2nd Corinthians 4:13).

Standard

Leave a Reply

