Living the Word of God

Help Along The Way

And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us: And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him (1 John 5:14-15).

There are many scriptures that will give you confidence in the Power of His Word. Today I will share with you some scriptures that gave me the ability to build my faith in the Lord and His marvelous word. I will also share some of the lessons I gleaned from those scriptures. Today I can truly say that as a result of the work I’ve put into studying the word, meditating on His promises and putting His word to the test, I have great faith. Take what you need, use what you take.

Hebrews 11:6 But without faith [it is] impossible to please [him]: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and [that] he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

I have learned through this scripture that when you seek the Lord, He will be found. Have you ever went on a pursuit to find the truth. At the end of that pursuit you will find the Lord God Almighty. I went on such pursuit and it became the beginning of my wisdom in understanding the Lord God and the power we have available in the spiritual world. The more I believed in the Lord, the more He showed Himself as the Sovereign Lord God Almighty in my affairs of life.

John 15:5 I am the vine, ye [are] the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

This scripture taught me to depend upon the Lord God, to cling to Him and His promises. After I realized that the Lord is my very breathe, I took a step further and started to really believe John 15:7-8 If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. Abiding in the Lord will teach you what concerns Him. Things like the poor, the widow, the sick, the homeless, the fatherless, the hopeless and more. All people suffering from the bondage of satan concerns our Lord. When Abiding in Him, His concerns becomes your concerns and as you begin to pray for those concerns, the Lord equips you with power from on high to remedy those problems. You become, as I am, an intercessor for the true causes of this world.

God is a spirit, they that worship Him must worship Him in spirit and in truth (John 4:24). The devil is also a spirit. A spirit cannot touch the physical things in this world. Along with our spirit, we were given a body and the ability to touch the physical. Because neither God nor the devil can touch anything physical (like you and me) each needs someone to do their bidding here on this earth. Since all mankind has a body, we require touch. The touch conveys love or hate. We do God’s work or the devil’s. Imagine the power of a touch at the right time, or the thousands of works a kiss says, even a hug has healing remedies. With the same body, one can punch someone, trip them or hurt them. Everyday we must chose properly whom we will allow to use our body.

1st Corinthians 2:9-16 (New Living Translation)

That is what the Scriptures mean when they say, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.” But it was to us that God revealed these things by his Spirit. For his Spirit searches out everything and shows us God’s deep secrets. No one can know a person’s thoughts except that person’s own spirit, and no one can know God’s thoughts except God’s own Spirit. And we have received God’s Spirit (not the world’s spirit), so we can know the wonderful things God has freely given us. When we tell you these things, we do not use words that come from human wisdom. Instead, we speak words given to us by the Spirit, using the Spirit’s words to explain spiritual truths. But people who aren’t spiritual can’t receive these truths from God’s Spirit. It all sounds foolish to them and they can’t understand it, for only those who are spiritual can understand what the Spirit means.  For, “Who can know the LORD’s thoughts? Who knows enough to teach him?” But we understand these things, for we have the mind of Christ.

We can’t fathom the gifts and power god has given us through His word, our ability to fellowship with Him and our ability to come boldly to the throne of grace for ourselves and those dear to our hearts. As we develop our spiritual life, God reveals His will in every situation As you learn to trust Him, it becomes divine direction for every area in life. I have learned how to tap into this power, to teach the Word from the whispers I hear the Lord speaking and to order my steps according to the Lord’s direction. I praise God, He is never wrong I’ve also learned and I’m able to accept it that not everyone will understand the mysteries of God.

Ephesians 3:20-21 Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, Unto him [be] glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.

I learned that all the Glory belongs to God. We can do nothing of ourselves. Every good and perfect gift comes from the Lord (James 1:17) and we should thank Him for them constantly. I also learned that not only is the Lord able to do more than what I ask or imagine and He’s willing to step in and make my rocky places smooth. That’s why God deserves all my praise.

Joshua 1:8-9 Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do. This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

This is a two part lesson in itself. First to study, looking up words and their various translations taught me to dig deeper into the word of God. When I did, I received a deeper revelation of just what a particular scripture was trying to tell me. When you meditate on His word, you ponder the “what if’s” and you start to see yourself receiving the promises that were made to you by the Lord Himself. The second part of this is to rise up in confidence and do what the word says. Just taking that leap of faith and coming out of my comfort zone to actually stand on His word believing it belongs to me increased my faith dramatically. I remember when I first caught the scriptures on healing (Isaiah 53:4-5, 1 Peter 2:24). Every year like clockwork I would get athlete’s foot in the summer when the public pools were opened. They won’t let you swim in public pools with athlete’s foot and I liked to swim. So when I caught hold of the scriptures for healing, I laid my hands on my foot and declared: “In the name of Jesus, I am healed!” Over the next few weeks the athlete’s foot disappeared and never came back. It’s been over 20 years now.

Psalms 62:5-8 Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will not be shaken. My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me. O my people, trust in him at all times. Pour out your heart to him, for God is our refuge. Interlude (NLT) The King James says: “Selah” (pause and think about it).

After you’ve done all you can do about a situation, the only thing left is to trust God will show up and come to your rescue. This scripture taught me to trust in Him, not to worry about things that are out of my control. When all else fails, I can always lean upon the faithfulness of the Lord and He will never let me down.

Isaiah 55:8-11 For my thoughts [are] not your thoughts, neither [are] your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For [as] the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper [in the thing] whereto I sent it.

I have learned that God don’t think about a situation the way I do nor is my way through a situation better than His. Trusting someone means that you rely on their ability to see you through a situation. Since the Word of God does not come back without accomplishing what it set out to do, I learned to trust in the Lord to deliver me at His time (which is always the right time.) Sometimes I begin to question what I’m going through but when I consider all the things He led me through, I can just relax with confidence that He will do it again.

Isaiah 54:17 No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue [that] shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This [is] the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and their righteousness [is] of me, saith the LORD.

No one can do anything to you apart from the Lord’s permission. When situations arise that causes fear in my life, I am reminded of this scripture and quote it out loud until my fears dissipate.

Deuteronomy 8:18 But thou shalt remember the LORD thy God: for [it is] he that giveth thee power to get wealth, that he may establish his covenant which he sware unto thy fathers, as [it is] this day.

I am blessed because of God’s grace on my life. He has made me strong, healthy, and good-looking, well versed in every branch of learning, gifted with knowledge and good judgment, and suited to serve in high places. Pride then makes one with all these attributes think it’s because of their gifts. But God has humbled me from a child and showed me that it’s because of Him. Praise the Lord.

Math 5:14-16 NIV “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

This scripture taught me behavior and through it, I became a better witness for the Lord. When you think people are not looking at you, they have a magnifying glass out. Instead of hiding, stand on the rooftops and shout the more louder “Jesus is Lord!”

Ephesians 6:10-18 (NLT) A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil.  For we  are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm. Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness. For shoes, put on the peace that comes from the Good News so that you will be fully prepared. In addition to all of these, hold up the shield of faith to stop the fiery arrows of the devil. Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.

In itself, this is a separate subject in which I will at a later time talk about. But as a former soldier of the US Army Infantry, I know that to battle the enemy, you must have weapons, a strategy, manpower to fight the war, supplies and logistics. In our battle against the devil and his cohorts, the weapons we have to fight with are more powerful than any weapon that I ever held, fired, saw or learned about. These are spiritual weapons because it’s a spiritual battle with a spiritual enemy. He attacks character and everything that would make someone turn against you and against God. I know that these weapons work because I have tried them and use them all the time. Who can withstand truth? Even superman could not be denied with a motto:  “For truth, justice and the American way.” With these weapons, we are able to “put on God” with the breastplate of righteousness. Everywhere we step we bring peace always knowing our rights purchased by our confession of our salvation in Christ gives us this boldness. And because the battle is not mines but the Lord’s (2 Chronicles 20:15) I know God has already obtained the victory over satan and I too can have this victory as long as I use the same words He used to defeat our enemy.

Romans 4:20-21 He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God; And being fully persuaded that, what he had promised, he was able also to perform.

I have learned when God tells me to do something or that He will do something for me, not to doubt it but believe on that promise. It’s when you believe something that something takes place. Faith exists when you can take the Word at its face value, believe it, then walk confidently knowing it’s on it’s way.

John 14:30 Jesus said: “I don’t have much more time to talk to you, because the ruler of this world approaches. He has no power over me.”

This is a very powerful chapter, John 14. The Lord liberates us, comforts us and empowers us. About verse 30, notice the words “HE-HAS-NO-POWER-OVER-ME.”  What gives me the right to know that nothing the devil does can harm me is because he has no power over me. I walk in that authority based upon 1 John 4:17 Herein is our love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as he is, so are we in this world.

2nd Corinthians 5:17-21 Therefore if any man [be] in Christ, [he is] a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. And all things [are] of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation; To wit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto himself, not imputing their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation. Now then we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God did beseech [you] by us: we pray [you] in Christ’s stead, be ye reconciled to God. For he hath made him [to be] sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him.

The Lord God has changed me, reconciled me to Himself and has given me a ministry to reconcile others to Christ. This is what being a Christian is all about: “To stretch out my hand to help someone else.” Not only am I able to help someone else see the light of the word, I am representing the kingdom as an Ambassador of Christ. So whatever Jesus did, I have His authorization as an ambassador to do the same things. What an awesome God giving us the ability to represent Him on this earth. Praise the Lord!

Colossians 2: 9-10 For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body. So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority (NLT).

Philemon 6 And I am praying that you will put into action the generosity that comes from your faith as you understand and experience all the good things we have in Christ (NLT).

First from Colossians, I understood that everything that Christ Jesus had within Him to work miracles are within me as long as I stay in union with the Lord. Philemon 6 tells me that I must exercise the faith action before anything can be done. When I studied these two scriptures out, I realized that God withheld nothing from us. All things are possible if I put my faith to it and did it God’s way.

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

When a task starts to frustrate you, sometimes you need a helping hand. Take a deep breath, blow it out and say “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” then go get the job done.

Philippians 4:19 But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

Many people quote this scripture but allow defeat in the areas where they are quoting this scripture. You have to know that you know that you know that God WILL supply all your needs. I use this scripture in combination with other scriptures because God is a God of specifics. All my needs is too general. But if I was going through a situation where I have to exercise patience, I could use this scripture with James 1:4 which states: But let patience have [her] perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. So my confession might be something like this: Lord, please give me patience to deal with this situation that I might bring glory to you. I know that you will supply all my needs in this situation. Thank you, Amen.

2nd Corinthians 10:3-5 We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do. We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ (NLT).

This scripture is twofold. First for me, it helps me to keep and control my thoughts. Whatever I think of that is not of God, I should immediately dismiss it from my thoughts. I am reminded when coming against some people that it’s not them, it’s the spirit that’s driving them to act like they do. (That’s where prayer comes in.)

Luke 6:45 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.

I have learned to listen to people. What they say out of their mouths tells you much about them. It tells you of their faith. It tells you where they are coming from. If you listen, it will tell you where they stand on any given situation. It’s coming from their heart.

Hebrews 12: 1-2 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith. [fn] Because of the joy [fn] awaiting him, he endured the cross, disregarding its shame. Now he is seated in the place of honor beside God’s throne.

In football, sometimes a quarterback throws the ball to the opposite team giving them an interception. And just as the quarterback has to forget about the interception he threw when he comes back to play on the next series, I have to forget about the times that I’ve missed the mark. I can do this by surrounding myself around other witnesses, keeping my focus and my eyes on Jesus by reading the word, listening to sermon teaching.

Galatians 6:7-8 Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.

Some people call it karma. I know it to be the word of God. Whatever you plant in someone’s life, this is what you will reap in your own life.

Gal 6:9 And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

Many things comes to distract us and take us off of our stand on the word. Some give up because of the length of time it’s taking to receive “their share” of the piece of the pie. The promise states not to be weary because it’s coming. Like Peter, when he began to sink when he was walking on water, he took his eyes off of Jesus. We become weary when we take our eyes off the Lord.

John 16:23-24 And in that day ye shall ask me nothing. Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in my name, he will give [it] you. Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full.

2nd Corinthians 4:13 We having the same spirit of faith, according as it is written, I believed, and therefore have I spoken; we also believe, and therefore speak

Because Jesus is our High Priest, when we say what He says, He takes this word before God and God honors it.

Genesis 8:22 While the earth remaineth, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.

In whatever you do, there is a wait period before you can see or enjoy the fruits of your labor. Just like when the farmer plants a seed. It takes time before he sees the result of his planting. Then it takes more time before he can harvest his crop. Be patient.

Romans 8:

1st Corinthians 10:13 The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure (NLT)

God always gives you a way out of temptation. I am learning how to exercise the strength to do it God’s way. It takes practice to master but when you do, no temptation will be able to control you.

Well, these are some of the scriptures that help me get to where I am in my faith. I hope that they help you as well. God bless you.

Standard

One thought on “Help Along The Way

  1. Pingback: 4 dynamics of change | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

